Welcome to BigCarClub!

Not logged in!

Hey there, welcome to BigCarClub!
You don't need to be logged in to view the forum but the experience will be so much better if you are! Users can login or if you don't have an account already, you can create one for free by clicking the Register link in the top right corner of this page.

Advert:

Truckers

Started by SirDavidAlhambra, April 22, 2022, 05:50:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Big hi to all you truckers out there.

What's it like driving a big truck?

Keep on truckin'.
I drive a Seat Alhambra 1.9Tdi which has 115bhp and an automatic gearbox.

I am happy to help you with all your questions. I am not a qualified mechanic but seem to be better at fixing my car than even the most experienced garages.

I have lots of friends here and very much enjoy talking with you all. Always remember, a motor car is a serious tool and should be treated with respect. Put your safety first, always.

Could write a book I suppose after 40+ years in the industry (now retired) from 20 years with Sainsbury's and a couple of years with Gateway formally Fine Fare supermarkets. The rest of my time on general haulage (roping and sheeting) and tanker work (before needing Hazchem requirements)
Believe me it's not as glamorous as portrayed on TV it can cause problems at home if you want to be a Family man, most firms I've worked for think they own you and you will do as your told or your out.

As for the vehicles there's no skill anymore, they are mainly automatic or should I say automated manual gearboxes anyone with good spacial awareness would pick up driving the newer vehicles pretty quickly.

A bit different back in the 70's when I started not all vehicles had power steering that was one of the most tiring, reversing into a tight space slowly.